HC Deb 01 August 1952 vol 504 c206W
Mr. Raikes

asked the Minister of Fuel and Power if he will make a statement about the forthcoming reappointment of the British Electricity Authority.

Mr. Geoffrey Lloyd

I have re-appointed Lord Citrine as Chairman of the British Electricity Authority and Sir John Hacking and Sir Henry Self as Deputy-Chairmen. I am also reappointing two other existing members of the Authority —Dame Caroline Haslett and Lieut.-Colonel E. H. E. Woodward.

In accordance with the provisions of the Electricity Act, 1947, four Chairmen of Area Electricity Boards (at present Mr. H. H. Mullens, Mr. H. Nimmo, Mr. S. F. Steward, and Mr. C. T. Melling), and also the Chairman of the North of Scotland Hydro-Electric Board, the Rt. Hon. Thomas Johnston, will continue to be members of the Authority.

Two members of the Authority, Sir William Walker and Mr. Bussey, will retire. Sir William Walker is not being reappointed on account of his age. Mr. Bussey has tendered his resignation on the ground that following a serious operation he wishes service of a less onerous character. I should like to express my appreciation of the valuable services which these two gentlemen have rendered.

I have appointed Councillor J. Sullivan, at present a member of the South-West Scotland Electricity Board, as a member of the Authority and I propose to fill the other vacancy shortly.