HC Deb 01 March 1951 vol 484 cc325-6W
Sir D. Robertson

asked the Postmaster-General how many public telephone kiosks have been provided for and will be erected and operating in the current financial year for each Scottish county; and the number for each Scottish county that will be provided in the next financial year.

Mr. Ness Edwards

The number of kiosks expected to be provided in each Scottish county in the present financial year is as follows:

Country No. of kiosks Country No. of kiosks
Aberdeen 21 Midlothian 23
Angus 45 Moray 5
Argyll 23 Nairn 3
Ayr 25 Orkney 3
Banff 7 Peebles 3
Berwick 5 Perth 27
Bute 4 Renfrew 24
Caithness 4 Ross and Cromarty 19
Clackmannan. 7
Dumfries 11 Roxburgh 6
Dumbarton 7 Selkirk 3
East Lothian 4 Stirling 8
Fife 42 Sutherland 11
Inverness 41 West Lothian 5
Kincardine 7 Wigtown 3
Kinross 1 Zetland 11
Kirkcudbright 2 County of the City of Glasgow 15
Lanark 43

A reliable estimate of the number to be provided in the financial year in each country cannot be made at this stage; it is hoped that the total will be about the same.