HC Deb 23 April 1951 vol 487 cc25-6W
Mr. Grimond

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies in which Colonies the Governor has power to deport without trial or appeal.

Mr. J. Griffiths

The Colonial Territories in which the Governor or High Commissioner, as the case may be, has power to deport from the territory without judicial process are Gibraltar, Kenya, Nyasaland, Somaliland, Tanganyika, Uganda, the Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony and the British Solomon Islands Protectorate. The Federation of Malaya is not strictly within the terms of the Question, but there also similar powers are possessed by the High Commis

genuinely seeking work in the last six months have been prevented by lack of accommodation from accepting it where it is available.

Mr. F. Lee

I regret that the information is not available.

Forward to