HC Deb 13 March 1950 vol 472 cc31-2W
91. Mr. Albu

asked the Minister of Transport if he will publish the qualifications of the recently-appointed members of the Transport Users Consultative Committee for London.

Mr. Barnes

As provided in the Transport Act, I consulted bodies representative of the appropriate interests specified in section 6 (4) of the Act, and as a result selected the persons whose names have been announced. Also as provided in the Act, I appointed two additional members, and two more selected from persons nominated by the British Transport Commission. I give below a list of members, indicating the interests they represent:

  • Alderman J. Fitzgerald, J.P.—Chairman.
  • Mr. L. G. Burleigh, M.Inst.T.—Industry and Commerce.
  • Mr. H. C. Crane, M.Inst.T.—Industry and Commerce.
  • Mr. W. F. Podmore—Industry and Commerce.
  • Mr. E. W. Rainer—Industry and Commerce.
  • Mr. E. E. Young—Industry and Commerce.
  • Mr. A. I. Anderson—Shipping.
  • Mr. F. Whittock—Shipping.
  • Mr. J. Crowley—Labour.
  • Councillor H. J. E. Palethorpe—Labour.
  • Councillor G. Allison-Beer—Local Authorities.
  • Alderman F. L. Corrick, J.P.—Local Authorities.
  • Alderman W. G. Fiske—Local Authorities.
  • Councillor A. C. Marshall—Local Authorities.
  • Alderman E. A. Wood, J.P.—Local Authorities.
  • Mr. J. H. F. Benford—British Transport Commission.
  • Mr. K. W. C. Grand—British Transport Commission.
  • Mrs. T. Cazalet-Keir—Additional Member.
  • Mrs. D. Robinson—Additional Member.

Mr. Wyatt

asked the Minister of Transport what means have been taken to publicise the work of the Transport Users Consultative Committees prescribed by the Transport Act.

Mr. Barnes

Section 6 (9) of the Transport Act, 1947, provides that the Central Transport Consultative Committee shall make an annual report to the Minister of Transport, and the Minister shall lay a copy of that report before each House of Parliament. I shall shortly lay before the House a copy of the report for 1949.

Forward to