HC Deb 08 December 1949 vol 470 cc161-3W
Mr. Goronwy Roberts

asked the Minister of Education how many Welsh language schools have been opened in Wales; how many pupils are catered for; how many teachers are employed in such schools; and how many such schools are projected or are under consideration.

Mr. Tomlinson:

Practically all primary schools in Welsh-speaking areas may be described as Welsh language schools. In linguistically mixed areas of Wales, one primary school and eight departments have been established by local education

L.E.A. Area Primary schools closed since 1st April, 1945 Primary schools opened or re-opened since 1st April, 1945 New Primary schools approved for building since 1945 up to 1949 programme
Anglesey 5
Breconshire 6 2
Caernarvonshire 4 3 1
Cardiganshire 1
Carmarthenshire 4 2 3
Denbighshire 2 3
Flintshire 2 5
Glamorgan 1 1 9
Merionethshire 1
Monmouthshire 1 4
Montgomeryshire 8 6
Pembrokeshire 3 4
Radnorshire 8
Cardiff 2 9
Merthyr Tydfil 1
Newport 4
Swansea 5
TOTALS 47 8 55

authorities since 1945 where all instruction is through the medium of Welsh. There is also one independent Welsh language primary school. The number of pupils at the local education authority departments referred to is approximately 360 and there are 17 teachers. Eight more departments are known to be projected, though there may be more.

Mr. Goronwy Roberts

asked the Minister of Education how many infant and primary schools in each local education authority area in Wales and Monmouthshire have been closed since 1945; how many have been opened or re-opened; and how many new schools in these categories have been approved for building in each area.

Mr. Tomlinson:

The following table shows for each local education authority in Wales and Monmouthshire the number of primary schools which have been closed since 1st April, 1945, the number of such schools opened or reopened in the same period, and the number of entirely new schools approved for building up to and including the 1949 building programmes. Separate figures for infant and junior schools are not readily available; generally speaking, however, the schools closed since 1st April, 1945, are one-department schools for both infant and junior children.