HC Deb 23 June 1948 vol 452 cc148-9W
16. Mr. Pryde

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland whether he is now in a position to make any statement as to the prospect of consolidating the local government statutes relating to Scotland.

Mr. Woodburn

, pursuant to his reply [OFFICIAL REPORT, 22nd June, 1948; Vol. 452, C. 1119] circulated the following information:

The Committee is constituted as follows:

  • Sir William Young Darling, C.B.E., M.C., D.L.,, LL.D., M.P.
  • John Edward de Watteville, Esq., C.B.E.
  • Matthew George Fisher, Esq., K.C. John Hinshelwood Gibson, Esq.
  • Andrew Gilzean, Esq., O.B.E., M.P.
  • William Kerr, Esq., C.B.E., J.P.
  • George Henry Kimpton, Esq.
  • Robert Lyle, Esq., B.L.
  • John Methven Mitchell, Esq., M.B.E., J.P.
  • John Picken Morrison, Esq., O.B.E.
  • The Rt. Hon. Lord Polwarth.
  • John Storrar, Esq., M.C., B.L., S.S.C.
  • Archibald Angus Templeton, Esq., M.B.E., J.P.
  • John Milne Vallance, Esq., W.S.
and the terms of reference are: To examine the field of statutory enactments applying to Scotland and affecting local authorities and local Government and to make recommendations with a view to the consolidation of such groups of enactments as the Committee may think suitable: In relation to such consolidation Bills as the Secretary of State, in the light of the above recommendations, may decide upon, to consider and recommend what amendments, if any, should be made to the Law in the course of such consolidation with a view to facilitating consolidation and securing simplicity, uniformity and conciseness: and to consider and report on any such Bills when drafted.