HC Deb 21 January 1947 vol 432 cc10-1W
Mrs. Ayrton Gould

asked the President of the Board of Trade the names of the board of the unincorporated body which is to be set up by His Majesty's Government to foster and develop the tourist, catering and holiday services.

Mr. Marquand

Yes, Sir. It was announced in the Press on 20th December last that Sir Alexander Maxwell had been appointed Chairman of the organisation which will be known as the British Tourist and Holidays Board. I am glad to be able to state that the following have accepted my invitation to join the Board:

  • Robin Brook, Esq.: A Director of the Bank of England.
  • The Lord Dukes, C.B.E.: A member of the General Council of the T U.C.
  • *M. W. Ferris, Esq.: Member of the Scottish Tourist Board.
  • The Lord Hacking, P.C., O.B.E., D.L.:
  • Vice-President of the Travel Association of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
  • Miss Caroline Haslett, C.B.E.: Director of the Electrical Association for Women.
  • F. C. Hole, Esq.: Chief Hotels Superintendent of the London. Midland and Scottish Railway Company.
  • *Rt. Hon. Tom Johnston: Chairman of the Scottish Tourist Board.
  • Mrs. J. Jones-Roberts, B.A., J.P.: Member of Merionethshire County Council and of the North Wales Development Council.
  • Sir Eustace Missenden, O.B.E.: General Manager, Southern Railway
  • Harry Salmon, Esq., J.P.: Chairman and Managing Director of J. Lyons & Co., Ltd.
  • E. W. Wimble, Esq., C.B.E.: Secretary and General Manager of the Workers Travel Association, Ltd.
  • Norman Wood, Esq.: A Director of the Co-operative Wholesale Society, Ltd.

*Nominated by the Secretary of State tot Scotland after consultation with the Scottish Tourist Board, and arrangements for mutual cooperation will be worked out between the two Boards.

As stated by the Viscount Hall in another place on 10th December last, the members of the board will not receive salaries. They will be appointed for a period of two years and after that time one-third will retire annually and will be eligible for re-appointment. Under the board, in addition to the salaried staff required to carry out its policy, there will be four committees dealing respectively with tourism, catering, home holidays and hotels. These committees will be appointed by the board and will be representative of the appropriate industries and of consumer interests. The following members of the board will be chairmen of these committees:

  • Tourist Committee: The Lord Hacking.
  • Catering Committee: Mr. Salmon.
  • Home Holidays Committee: Mr. Wimble
  • Hotels Committee: Mr. Hole.

Appropriate provision by way of grant-in-aid will be made in the Estimate of the Board of Trade.

Forward to