HC Deb 21 January 1947 vol 432 cc5-6W
Mr. E. P. Smith

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer if he will state the names of the members of the Arts Council and their respective qualifications for their duties.

Mr. Dalton

The members of the Arts Council have been selected for personal qualities as well as for practical and professional experience of the various arts. The present members of the council are:

  • Su Ernest Pooley, K.C. V.O. (Chairman)
  • Dr. B. Ifor Evans (Vice-Chairman)
  • Mr Ivor Brown
  • Sir Lewis Casson, M.C.
  • Sir Kenneth Clark, K.C.B.
  • Lord Esher, M.B.E.
  • The Hon. Member for Hendon, North (Mrs. Ayrton Gould).
  • Lord Harlech, G.C.M.G
  • Mrs. Cazalet Keir.
  • Lady Keynes
  • Sir Stanley Marchant, C.V.O.
  • Dr. James Welsh.
  • Mr W. E. Williams, C.B.E.
  • Dr. R. Vaughan Williams, O.M