HC Deb 25 July 1944 vol 402 cc609-10W
Major C. S. Taylor

asked the Prime Minister whether, in order to enable Members to address representations or suggestions to the appropriate authority, he will state what Government Departments are responsible for dealing with the various questions arising out of the flying bomb attacks.

The Prime Minister

The following statement shows the Civil Departments principally concerned and the main fields of responsibility of each such Department. Any necessary co-ordination of the Regional activities of the civil Departments mentioned is effected by the Regional Commissioner. Civil problems arising from flying bomb attacks are dealt with by the Civil Defence Committee, which is a Ministerial Committee, on which all Departments concerned are represented under the Chairmanship of the Home Secretary and Minister of Home Security.

Home Office and Ministry of Home Security:


National Fire Service.

Civil Defence Services (other than First Aid Posts and Ambulances).

Fire Guards.

Demolition and clearance.

Salvage and storage of furniture.

Provision of air raid shelters.

Glass protection.

Public warning and industrial alarm system.

Casualty statistics.

Ministry of Health:

Casualty services (First Aid Posts, ambulances and hospitals).

Evacuation of priority classes.

Rest Centres, billeting and care of the homeless.

General supervision and direction of first aid repairs by local authorities to house property.

Restoration of sewers and water services.

Equipment and management of air raid shelters.

Health and comfort of shelterers.

Ministry of Food: Emergency feeding arrangements.

Board of Education:

Air raid shelter in schools.

Education of evacuated children.

Ministry of Works:

Allocation of all labour engaged on various classes of first aid work, according to requirements.

Control of use of building materials, and allocation and distribution of first aid repair materials and necessary plant.

Assisting local authorities' first aid repair of houses with the Special Repair Service and contractors who are being brought in from outside.

Ministry of Labour and National Service: Supply of all classes of labour.

Board of Trade: Claims in respect of insurable commodities under the War Risks Insurance Act or private chattels or business equipment under the War Damage Act.

Ministry of Fuel and Power: Restoration of Gas and Electricity supplies.

General Post Office: Repairs to telecommunications.

Ministry of Aircraft Production (Emergency Services Organisation): Repairs to war production factories.

War Damage Commission (Questions should be addressed to the Chancellor of the Exchequer): Claims in respect of war damage to land and buildings.

Assistance Board (Questions should be addressed to the Minister of Labour): Relief of distress Schemes.

Ministry of Pensions: Claims for injuries, etc.

Ministry of Information:

Press censorship.

Communication of information to the public, otherwise than as provided by the Department concerned.

Ministry of War Transport: General transport services.