HC Deb 12 July 1944 vol 401 cc1744-5W
Mr. Creech Jones

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies what Dependencies have Co-operative Departments; where Co-operative Registrars have been appointed and Co-operative Ordinances enacted; and what general policy is being followed to extend co-operation among producers and consumers throughout the Colonial Empire.

Colonel Stanley

Co-operative Departments exist in Nigeria, Trinidad, Ceylon, Cyprus and Palestine. Co-operative questions are dealt with by a special section of the Department of Agriculture in the Gold Coast and Mauritius. Co-operative Registrars have been appointed in Nigeria, the Gold Coast, Trinidad, Ceylon, Mauritius, Cyprus and Palestine. A Registrar of Co-operative Credit Banks has been appointed in British Guiana. A Co-operative Registrar is about to be appointed in Malta. Co-operative Ordinances have been enacted in Nigeria, the Gold Coast, Sierra Leone, Kenya, Tan- ganyika, Northern Rhodesia, Trinidad, Ceylon, Mauritius, Cyprus, Palestine and in the Gilbert and Ellice Islands. St. Helena and the Seychelles have laws dealing with Co-operative Credit Societies and the Friendly Societies Ordinances of St. Lucia and Grenada include specific provision for Co-operative Societies. Measures to stimulate the growth of cooperation in the Colonies are in the first place a matter for the Governments concerned and it will be appreciated that local circumstances and conditions vary considerably. I am, however, giving consideration at the present time to the sending out of some general advice on the subject.

Forward to