HC Deb 05 February 1942 vol 377 cc1288-9W
Mr. Pearson

asked the Minister of Health how many local authorities have made provision for adjudicating officers for the administration of domiciliary relief previous to the circulation of Circular 2000 of the Ministry of Health; what is the number subsequent to the issue of the circular; and will he name the authorities?

Mr. E. Brown

Nine authorities were empowered to appoint adjudicating officers before the issue of Circular 2000, namely the county councils of London and Middlesex, and the town councils of Croydon, Kingston-upon-Hull, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Sheffield and Wolverhampton. Five authorities have received such powers since that date, namely the county councils of East Suffolk, Kent and Leicester, and the town councils of Lincoln and Smethwick.