HC Deb 21 January 1941 vol 368 cc58-60W
Mr. Craven-Ellis

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer whether he will publish a complete list of the names of members of committees and other bodies which have been appointed to advise the Treasury since April, 1939; what was the pre-war interest of these gentlemen; and where they are in receipt of remuneration will he state the amounts?

Sir K. Wood,

pursuant to his reply [OFFICIAL REPORT, 10th November, 1940; col. 2024, Vol. 365], supplied the following statement:

Name of Committee. Members. Pre-War Interest.
Chancellor of the Exchequer's Consultative Council. Mr. S. R. Beale. Chairman, Guest Keen & Nettlefold, Ltd., Member, Export Guarantees Advisory Council. Director, London Midland and Scottish Railway Company
Mr. Colin Campbell, J.P. Chairman, National Provincial Bank.
The Rt. Hon. Sir Walter Citrine, K.B.E. General Secretary of the T.U.C., etc.
Mr. H. D. Henderson. Research Fellow in Economics, All Souls College, Oxford.
Sir Bertram Hornsby, C.B.E. Chairman, Commercial Union Assurance Co., Ltd. Chairman, Anglo-International Bank, etc.
Mr. J. M. Keynes, C.B., M.A., F.B.A. Fellow and Bursar of King's College, Cambridge. Secretary, Royal Economic Society. Member, Economic Advisory Council, etc.
Mr. G. Riddle, C.B.E. Vice-Chairman, Co-operative Wholesale Society.
The Rt. Hon. Lord Riverdale, K.B.E., LL.D., J.P. Chairman, Arthur Balfour & Co. Director, National Provincial Bank, etc.
Enemy Debts Committee. Sir Nigel Campbell (Chairman). Managing Director, Helbert Wagg and Co., Ltd. Deputy Chairman, Stewarts & Lloyds, Ltd. Director, British Overseas Bank, etc.
Mr. Henry Morgan, F.S.A.A. Senior Partner Morgan Brothers & Co.
Mr. F. R. M. de Paula, O.B.E., F.C.A. Controller of Finance, Dunlop Rubber Co. Chairman, Siemens-Schuckert, Ltd.
Mr. G. W. Thompson (resigned) Editor, business manager and secretary, National Technical Sub-Committee.
Czech Financial Claims Committee. Mr. E. H. Lever, F.I.A. (Chairman). Joint Secretary, Prudential Assurance Co., Ltd. Member, Council of Foreign Bondholders, etc.
The Rt. Hon. the Earl of Bess-borough, G.C.M.G. President, Council of Foreign Bondholders. Chairman, League Loans Committee, etc.
Sir G. E. Niemeyer, G.B.E., K.C.B. Director, Bank of England, etc.
Sir Edward Reid, Bt. Managing Director, Baring Bros., etc.
Mr. Ernest Sykes, B.A. Secretary, Committee of London Clearing Bankers. Secretary, British Bankers Committee.
The principles of Assesment of War Damage to Property. Mr. A. Andrewes Uthwatt (Chairman). Barrister-at-Law.
Sir Gerald Canny, K.C.B., K.B.E. Chairman, Board of Inland Revenue.
Sir Harriss Firth, F.S.I., F.A.I. Chief Valuer, Inland Revenue.
Mr. S. Fitch, F.S.I., F.A.I. Chief Land Commissioner, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.
Mr. A. C. Gladstone, M.B.E. Director, Bank of England.
Mr. H. Stanley Hall, M.A., F.R.I.B.A. President, Royal Institute of British Architects.
Mr. Oswald Healing, P.S.I. President, Chartered Surveyors' Institution.
Mr. Herbert Lewis (until his death). Past Chairman, British Insurance Association.
Mr. J. F. Linney, P.A.I.,F.S.I. President Auctioners' and Estate Agents' Institute.
Mr. R. Y. Sketch, F.C.I.I. (insuccession to Mr. Lewis). Deputy Chairman, British Insurance Association.
None of these gentlemen receives remuneration for his services.