HC Deb 24 April 1941 vol 371 c267W
Sir I. Albery

asked the Home Secretary with reference to the new reconstituted committee under Regulation 18B, which members, if any, of the present reconstituted committee were not members of the original committee?

Mr. H. Morrison

All the members of the reconstituted committee were members of the Advisory Committee before its reconstitution.

Sir I. Albery

asked the Home Secretary whether he will now state the names of those members appointed on the original Advisory Committee to investigate cases of detention under Regulation 18B who have at any time tendered their resignation, stating the date when such resignation was tendered, and in each case whether such offer of resignation was accepted, or, after further communication, withdrawn?

Mr. Morrison

Sir Harry Pritchard retired from the work of the Advisory Committee in August, 1940. Mr. J. P. Crump, Mrs. Evelyn Lowe, Mr. A. T. Miller, K.C., Mr. C. C. Walkinshaw and Mr. H. O. Wallington, K.C., who were also members of the original Advisory Committee, retired in September, 1940. The reason in each case was the inability of the member to continue the work owing to other calls on his time—for example, some members found themselves unable to attend the Committee when it was transferred from London to Ascot in September, 1940. Accordingly the member's retirement was accepted in each case and no communication suggesting its withdrawal was made.

Forward to