HC Deb 01 February 1940 vol 356 cc1298-9W
Mr. Mander

asked the Prime Minister the names of the States, members of the League of Nations, which have decided to render assistance to Finland in accordance with the Resolution recently passed by the Council of the League of Nations as a result of Russian aggression; and whether he is able to indicate the nature of the assistance which is being offered, whether military, technical, or humanitarian?

Mr. Butler

I understand that the Governments of the following States have specifically informed the Secretary-General of the League of Nations of their readiness to act in accordance with the Assembly Resolution of 14th December: Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Colombia, Dominica, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Hayti, India, Liberia, Mexico, South Africa, Uruguay. All States, however, which voted for the Resolution thereby undertook to act in accordance with it.

As regards the second part of the Question, the Secretary-General of the League has been informed that the Government of the Union of South Africa are releasing certain aircraft for Finland; and that the Government of the Commonwealth of Australia have given 10,000 Australian pounds to the Finnish Government for Red Cross purposes. As has already been stated, His Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom are giving very substantial assistance by facilitating the export of war material from this country. Further substantial assistance is, it is understood, also being given by the French Government.