HC Deb 07 November 1939 vol 353 c80W
Mr. David Adams

asked the Minister of Shipping whether he has now set up an advisory board of shipowners' representatives and those of their employes; and will he state the personnel of the board?

Sir J. Gilmour

Yes, Sir. The Advisory Council held its first meeting on Friday last. The following is the List of Members:

  • Sir John Gilmour (The Minister of Shipping).
  • Sir Cyril Hurcomb (Director-General, Ministry of Shipping).
  • Sir Vernon Thomson (Principal Shipping Adviser).
  • Sir Julian Foley (Secretary, Ministry of Shipping).
  • Sir Percy E. Bates, C.B.E. (Cunard White Star Limited, etc.).
  • Mr. S. C. Bradley (Amalgamated Engineering Union).
  • Mr. D. Bramah, C.B.E. (Marine Engineers Association).
  • Captain W. H. Coombs (Officers (Merchant Navy) Federation).
  • Sir William C. Currie (P. & O. Steam Navigation Company, etc.).
  • Lord Essendon (Furness Withy and Company, Limited, Royal Mail Lines, Limited, etc.).
  • Sir Philip Haldin (Court Line Limited, Lamport and Holt Line, Limited).
  • Mr. H. S. Holden (Ellerman Lines Limited, etc.).
  • Mr. S. James (National Union of Seamen).
  • The Hon. J. P. Maclay, M.P. (Maclay and Mclntyre, Limited).
  • Mr. D. W. Milford (Transport and General Workers Union).
  • Mr. H. J. Perkins (Radio Officers Union).
  • Sir Alfred Read (Coast Lines, Limited).
  • Mr. George Reed (National Union of Seamen).
  • Sir G. Leighton Seager, C.B.E., J.P. (W. H. Seager and Company, Limited).
  • Mr. W. R. Spence, C.B.E. (National Union of Seamen).
  • Sir Arthur M. Sutherland, Bt., K.B.E.(B. J. Sutherland and Company, Limited, etc.).
  • Mr. A. Wilson (Mercantile Marine Service Association).