HC Deb 24 November 1938 vol 341 cc1970-1W
Mr. Mander

asked the Prime Minister whether he will state the names of the countries who are now bound by the optional clause of Article 36 of the Statute of the Permanent Court of International Justice; what States have signed it within the last five years; and whether any have withdrawn their signature?

Mr. Butler

The countries which are now bound by the Optional Clause of Article 36 of the Permanent Court of International Justice are as follow:

South Africa, Albania, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, United Kingdom, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, the Dominican Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Haiti, Hungary, India, Iran, Iraq, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemberg, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portgual, Roumania, Salvador, Siam, Sweden, Switzerland and Uruguay.

The following countries have signed the Optional Clause since the 1st January, 1933:

Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, Iraq, Monaco, Turkey.

The following countries, which had signed the Optional Clause, have not renewed their signatures, which have therefore lapsed:

China, Costa Rica, Germany, Guatemala, Italy, Liberia, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Poland, Spain and Yugoslavia.

Turkey has not ratified the Protocol of of the Statute of the Court. Iraq has recently signed, but not yet ratified.

Back to
Forward to