HC Deb 16 November 1938 vol 341 c886W
Captain Plugge

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies to what extent at the present time persons are appointed to the Colonies for the purpose of trade development work on the lines of the British Trade Commissioners in the various Dominions; and whether, with a view to stimulating trade with the Colonies, he will consider appointing further Trade Commissioners to the principal Colonies?

Mr. R. S. Hudson

I have been asked to reply. Trade Commissioners are not appointed only for the Dominions. There are, in fact, four Trade Commissioners in different parts of the British Colonial Empire, whose number it is not proposed at the present time to increase. These Trade Commissioners are assisted by 21 Imperial Trade Correspondents. In addition, the area of His Majesty's Trade Commissioner in India includes Ceylon, and that of His Majesty's Trade Commissioner in Southern Rhodesia includes Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland, whilst there are also 19 Imperial Trade Correspondents in those parts of the British Colonial Empire which are not included in the areas of Resident Trade Commissioners.