HC Deb 02 March 1938 vol 332 c1121W
Mr. Maxwell

asked the Under-Secretary of State for Air from what points in Great Britain are upper-air observations taken to assist in the analysis and forecasting of weather?

Lieut.-Colonel Muirhead

Sounding balloons with instruments are sent up in accordance with the programme of the International Aerological Commission from either Kew or Sealand. Regular aeroplane ascents are made for meteorological observations once or twice daily (Sunday excepted) from Mildenhall in Suffolk and Aldergrove in County Antrim, Ulster, and occasional flights are undertaken from the following stations:

South Farnborough. Old Sarum.
Boscombe Down. Mount Batten.
Driffield. Bicester.

In addition, pilot balloon ascents for determining the direction and velocity of the upper winds are made at 35 meteorological stations in Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the names of which are:

Abbotsinch. Finningley.
Aberdeen. Hemswell.
Abingdon. Holyhead.
Aldergrove. Hucknall.
Biggin Hill. Hythe.
Bircham Newton. Lee-on-the-Solent.
Boscombe Down. Leuchars.
Bristol. Lympne.
Calshot. Manchester.
Catterick. Manston.
Cranwell. Mildenhall.
Croydon. Mount Batten.
Dishforth. Pembroke Dock.
Driffield. Sealand.
Eskdalemuir. Shoeburyness.
South Farnborough. Thornaby.
Upper Heyford.
Felixstowe. Upwood.

Forward to