HC Deb 27 February 1936 vol 309 cc680-1W

asked the Attorney-General how many petty sessional divisions now exist without any women magistrates; and what decrease in this number has taken place during the past 12 months?


There are 1,006 petty sessional divisions, of which 746 are county divisions, 251 are boroughs and towns, and nine divisions have special jurisdiction. Of these, according to the latest figures available, there are 45 county and eight borough divisions to which women justices have not as yet been allocated, showing a decrease of eight in the counties and one in the boroughs.