HC Deb 08 March 1935 vol 298 cc2267-8W

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland whether he is now in a position to announce the names of the proposed members of the Herring Industry Board?


The names of the proposed members of the Herring Industry Board are as follow:

  • Mr. James Watt, LL.D., W.S., Edinburgh (Chairman).
  • Mr. H. S. Moss Blundell, C.B.E. (Deputy Chairman).
  • Mr. Walter Smith, formerly Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries and to the Board of Trade.
  • Mr. Eric Brander, Chairman of the Scottish Herring Producers Association, Limited.
  • Mr. G. N. Davidson, Kipperer and Herring Merchant.
  • Mr. Neil Mackay, Managing Director of Mac Fisheries, Limited.
  • 2268
  • Mr. J. H. Mitchell, Chairman of the British Herring Trade Association, Limited.
  • Mr. G. F. Spashett, Boatowner and Salesman.
The first three are the independent members, that is to say, persons not engaged in the herring industry or trades connected with it. The other five are the persons having special knowledge of the industry in terms of Section 1 of the Bill. On his appointment Mr. Moss Blundell will resign his existing post as Chief Inspector of Fisheries in the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.