HC Deb 12 December 1935 vol 307 cc1148-9W

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs whether he will name the countries adhering to the League of Nations, also those that do not adhere, together with the countries that have expressed adhesion to the policy of sanctions in the Italo-Abyssinian conflict, and those nations belonging to the League that do not approve of such sanctions?


The following countries are at present members of the League of Nations:

Afghanistan. Iraq.
Union of South Africa. Iran.
Irish Free State.
Albania. Italy.
Argentina. Latvia.
Australia. Liberia.
Austria. Lithuania.
Belgium. Luxemberg.
Bolivia. Mexico.
United Kingdom. Nicaragua.
Bulgaria. Norway.
Canada. New Zealand.
Chile. Panama.
China. Paraguay.
Colombia. Netherlands.
Cuba. Peru.
Denmark. Poland.
Dominican Republic. Portugal.
Ecuador. Salvador.
Ethiopia. Siam.
Spain. Sweden.
Estonia. Switzerland.
Finland. Czechoslovakia.
France. Turkey.
Greece. Union of Soviet Socialist Republics.
Honduras. Uruguay.
Hungary. Venezuela.
India. Yugoslavia.

The following countries are not members: Brazil, Costa Rica, Egypt, Germany, Iceland, Japan, Saudi Arabia, and the United States of America.

The co-ordination of the measures to be taken under Article 16 of the Covenant in connection with the dispute between Italy and Ethiopia is undertaken by a committee composed of all the members of the League except Italy and Ethiopia. All the members of this Committee have concurred in the application of the measures so far decided upon with the exception of Austria, Hungary, Albania and Paraguay. The Goverments of the first three of these countries have stated that they are unable to participate in the measures in question, while the Paraguayan Government have stated that they do not deem it desirable for the present to consider a resolution concerning them.

Of the non-member States, Egypt has signified her adherence to the measures of the Co-ordination Committee.