HC Deb 01 February 1934 vol 285 cc570-1W

asked the Minister of Health the number and names of those local authorities who have not appointed co-opted members on their public assistance committees?


In 37 counties and county boroughs the administrative scheme provides for a specially constituted public assistance committee without co-opted members. Their names are as follow:

Caernarvon. Halifax.
Kent. Lincoln.
Merioneth. Manchester.
Monmouth. Merthyr Tydfil.
Montgomery. Norwich.
Pembroke. Reading.
Southampton. Rotherham.
Staffs. Salford.
East Sussex. Sheffield.
Warwickshire. Smethwick.
Barnsley. Stockport.
Barrow-in-Furness. Swansea.
Bolton. Wakefield.
Burnley. Walsall.
Bury. Warrington.
Canterbury. West Bromwich.
Derby. West Ham.
Eastbourne. Wigan.
East Ham.

In 11 other areas, named below, the scheme provided that some other committee of the council should act as the public assistance committee, and so far as my information goes, that other committee does not include any co-opted members.

Beds. West Suffolk.
Berks. Darlington.
Denbigh. Hastings.
Hereford. Huddersfield.
Middlesex. Middlesbrough.
East Suffolk.