HC Deb 10 December 1934 vol 296 c40W

asked the President of the Board of Trade the names of those seaside resorts with a population of over 5,000 where the beach, or the main part of it, is owned by private interests?


The foreshore below high-water mark adjacent to the following sea-coast towns in England and Wales with a population of over 5,000 is not regarded, wholly or mainly, as under the management of the Board of Trade, the Commissioners of Crown Lands, or of the Duchies of Lancaster or Cornwall:

*Blackpool. Margate.
Blyth. *Morecambe.
Bournemouth. *Newquay.
*Brighton. *Paignton.
Broadstairs. Penarth.
Christchurch. *Penzance.
*Dover. Ramsgate.
*Eastbourne. Redcar.
Falmouth. Ryde.
Felixstowe. St. Ives.
*Fleetwood. *Sandown-Shanklin.
Folkestone. *Scarborough.
Formby. Southend-on-Sea.
Great Crosby. Southport.
*Hastings. South Shields.
Herne Bay. Sunderland.
*Hoylake and West *Swansea.
Kirby. *Torquay.
Hythe. Tynemouth.
Littlehampton. *Wallasey.
Lytham St. Anne's.

In the cases of those towns marked with an asterisk, it is understood that the foreshore is owned wholly or mainly by a local authority. I have no information as to the present ownership of the foreshore adjacent to the other towns. In some cases the foreshore passed from the Crown many years ago.