HC Deb 04 June 1930 vol 239 cc2175-7W

asked the President of the Board of Education if he will issue a table showing the local authority and number of scholars receiving a daily ration of milk during school hours and the number supplied free?


A list is appended of the local authorities in whose areas some arrangements for the supply of milk to school children are known to be in operation. The authorities which are providing milk free for the children of parents who are unable to pay for it are shown with an asterisk. From the returns received from authorities and the estimates of the National Milk Publicity Council, it appears that upwards of 400,000 children are now receiving milk, but I am not able to give separate figures for each area. During the week ending 24th May approximately 36,000 children received milk free under the arrangements made by local education authorities.

Following are the names of the local authorities:

Bedfordshire. *Lancashire.
Berkshire. Leicestershire.
Buckinghamshire. Lincs. (Lindsey).
Cheshire. *London.
*Durham. Middlesex.
Essex. Norfolk.
Gloucestershire. *Northumberland.
Hampshire. Shropshire.
Hertfordshire. Somerset.
Kent. Staffordshire.
Suffolk (West). Worcestershire.
Surrey. *Yorks, West Riding.
Sussex (East).
Sussex (West).
County Boroughs.
*Barnsley. *Kingston-upon-Hull.
*Bath. *Leeds.
*Blackburn. Liverpool.
*Bournemouth. Manchester.
*Bradford. Reading.
*Brighton. *Rotherham.
Burnley. St. Helens.
Carlisle. Sheffield.
Chester. *Southampton.
*Croydon. Southend-on-Sea.
*Derby. *Stoke-on-Trent.
*Dudley. Wakefield.
Eastbourne. Wallasey.
East Ham. Walsall.
*Halifax. West Ham.
*Hastings. Wigan.
Ipswich. *York.
Acton. Hove.
*Ashton-under-Lyne. *Hyde.
*Blyth. Kingston-on-Thames.
Bromley. Leyton.
Cambridge. Maidstone
*Chatham. *Middleton.
Colne. *Nuneaton.
*Darwen. Reigate.
*Ealing. Richmond.
Folkestone. *Rochester.
*Gillingham. *Salisbury.
*Glossop. Twickenham.
Gosport. Wallsend.
Gravesend. Walthamstow.
Harwich. Wimbledon.
Hemel Hempstead. *Winchester.
Urban Districts.
Barking Town. *Kettering.
Beckenham. Penge.
Brentford and Chiswick. Radcliffe.
Finchley. *Tottenham.
Hendon. Willesden.
Ilford. Wood Green.
*Breconshire. *Monmouthshire.
County Boroughs.
Cardiff. *Swansea.
*Merthyr Tydfil.
Urban Districts.
*Aberdare. *Mountain Ash.
*Abertillery. *Pontypridd.
*Barry. *Rhondda.