HC Deb 03 June 1930 vol 239 cc1974-6W

asked the President of the Board of Education if he will furnish a list of those education authorities who have submitted schemes for the operation of the reorganisation of schools consequent upon the raising of the school age in 1931?


The names of the 142 local education authorities to which I referred in my speech on the Second Reading of the Education Bill are set out in the accompanying list. All these authorities have submitted schemes and, I am satisfied, should have substantially reorganised most of their areas by the time when the new age-group will be in the schools. This list, however, should not be regarded as exhaustive. The great majority of the remaining authorities are actively preparing for the reorganisation of their schools, and the only reason that they have not been included in the list is either because their programmes have not yet been completed, or because it cannot at present be said with the same degree of certainty that they will have made equal progress by the time stated.

Middlesex. Lancashire.
Wiltshire. Leicestershire.
Durham. Oxfordshire.
County Boroughs.
Croydon. Burton-on-Trent.
Hastings. Walsall.
Southampton. Coventry.
Brighton. Dudley.
Great Yarmouth. Tynemouth.
Norwich. Darlington.
Ipswich. Gateshead.
East Ham. Bootle.
Southend. St. Helens.
West Ham. Warrington.
Bath. Wigan.
Stoke-on-Trent. Rochdale.
West Bromwich. Bury.
County Boroughs.
Barrow. Oxford.
Birkenhead. Lincoln.
Wallasey. York.
Blackpool. Middlesbrough.
Preston. Barnsley.
Manchester. Dewsbury.
Salford. Doncaster.
Bolton. Rotherham.
Nottingham. Halifax.
Part III Authorities.
Acton. Stockton-on-Tees.
Ealing. Jarrow.
Edmonton. Felling.
Enfield. Hebburn.
Hendon. Hartlepool.
Heston and Isleworth. Darwen.
Wood Green. Waterloo.
Kingston-upon-Thames. Widnes.
Richmond. Stalybridge.
New Windsor. Bacup.
Winchester. Rawtenstall.
Worthing. Stretford.
Hove. Chadderton.
Tunbridge Wells. Chorley.
Beckenham. Eccles.
Folkestone. Leigh.
Gosport. Farnworth.
Faversham. Radcliffe.
Gillingham. Accrington.
Maidstone. Clitheroe.
Erith. Colne.
King's Lynn. Nelson.
Cambridge. Lancaster.
Luton. Lytham-St.-Annes.
Harwich. Dukinfield.
Leyton. Congleton.
Walthamstow. Hyde.
Barking. Macclesfield.
Salisbury. Swinton and Pendlebury.
Yeovil. Buxton.
Newcastle-under-Lyme. Chesterfield.
Cannock. Ilkeston.
Nuneaton. East Retford.
Leamington. Loughborough.
Cheltenham. Kettering.
Oldbury. Beverley.
Coseley. Bridlington.
Rowley Regis. Scarborough.
Wallsend. Brighouse.
Whitehaven. Harrogate.
Workington. Keighley.
Durham. Pontefract.
Part III Authorities.
Shipley. Todmorden.