HC Deb 18 April 1929 vol 227 cc423-4W

asked the Minister of Pensions what is the number of members on the Special Grants Committee; what are the names of the present members, what organisations do they represent, and by whom is the committee appointed; what was the date of the last meeting of the full committee; how often does the committee meet; and whether decisions as to the continuance or suspension of widows' pensions are made by the committee as a whole on by the clerical staff of the committee?


The number of members of the Special Grants Committee is at the present moment 10. The members are under statute appointed by the Minister of Pensions and they are selected on account of their qualifications for the duties which the Committee have to perform, not as representatives of particular organisations. Forfeiture of pension, as well as the continuance of pension previously forfeited, is only declared on the authority of the appropriate Sub-Committee acting within the powers delegated to it by the full Committee. The full Committee deals with questions of principle and meets as often as is necessary for this purpose, the last meeting taking place in December last. The work of the Committee which now consists mainly of decisions on individual cases, is carried on by Sub-Committees on principles laid down by the full Committee, and these Sub-Committees meet usually once a fortnight.

The Committee consists at present of the following members:

Lieut.-Colonel The Right Hon. G. F. Stanley, C.M.G., M.P. (Chairman).

Mr. R. F. Cholmeley, C.B.E., M.A. (Vice-Chairman), late Headmaster, Dame Alice Owen School, Finsbury.

Mr. A. Cunnison, Assistant Secretary, Awards Division, Ministry of Pensions.

Admiral Cresswell Eyres, D.S.O., late Member of Chatham War Pensions Committee.

Miss C Keeling, M.B.E., J.P., Westminster War Pensions Committee.

Mr. C. W. Maudslay, Assistant Secretary, Board of Education.

Mrs. B. Ross-Smyth. O.B.E., J.P., Perth War Pensions Committee.

Mr. B. J. Saunders, C.B.E., J.P., Chairman, Brighton War Pensions Committee.

Lieut.-Colonel V. Vivian, C.M.G., M.V.O., D.S.O.

Mr. A. G. Webb, Chief Officer, Pensions Department, British Legion.