HC Deb 22 May 1928 vol 217 cc1713-4W

asked the Home Secretary the names of the persons at present forming the State Management Districts Council; and the names of the present members of the Carlisle State Management Scheme Local Advisory Committee, with particulars of the public body, authority, or other interest which each represents thereon?


The members of the State Management Districts Council are the Home Secretary and the Secretary of State for Scotland, the Under-Secretary of State for the Home Department, two Departmental representatives (Sir John Pedder and Mr. P. J. Rose), and four others. Sir William Waters Butler, Mr. S. O. Neville, Sir John Sykes and Sir William Towle.

The Carlisle and District Local Advisory Committee consists of the following: The Earl of Lonsdale (President), Mr. G. A. Rimington (Chairman), nominated by the Cumberland Licensing Committee; the Mayor of Carlisle (Mr. J. Henderson), ex officio; Sir William Waters Butler, Sir William Towle, Sir F. W. Chance and Mrs. Isa Graham; and the following members nominated by the public bodies specified, namely, Mr. Dalton and Mr. Potts (Carlisle City Council), Mr. Rigg (Carlisle Watch Committee), Mr. J. P. Buck, Miss M. E. Creighton, Dr. Dundas-Helm, Mr. W. P. Gibbings (Carlisle Licensing Committee), Major Carleton Salkeld (Cumberland Standing Joint Committee), Mrs. J. Lang and Mr. F. E. Woodhall (Carlisle Trades and Labour Council), Mr. T. H. Stokoe (Maryport Urban District Council), Mr. T. Carey (Maryport Licensing Justices), and Mr. W. Parkin-Moore (Wigton Licensing Justices).