HC Deb 07 May 1928 vol 217 cc51-2W

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies whether, in view of the rapid disappearances of wild animals in Africa, any tracts of land in the East African Dependencies are set apart as game preserves; and, if so, how many, in what districts are they situated, and what is their aggregate area?

5. Mr. AMERY

Yes, Sir. In each of the East African Dependencies legislative power exists to constitute game reserves, and, in addition to partial reservations in which killing of particular animals is prohibited, a large number of game reserves has been declared. A list of these reserves is given below. I regret that information as to the total area of these reserves is not available, but the two Kenya reserves cover over 20,000 square miles.

List of Game Reserves in the East African Dependencies compiled from information available at the Colonial Office:


  • Southern Game Reserve, Ukamba Province, south-west Kenya and Uganda Railway.
  • Northern Game Reserve, Northern Frontier Province.


  • Bunyoro Game Reserve, in the Northern Province, on the shores of Lake Albert.
  • Toro Game Reserve and Lake George Game Reserve, in the Western Province.

Northern Rhodesia.

  • Mweru Marsh Reserve, on the Belgian Congo border.
  • Kafue Reserve.
  • Victoria Falls Reserve,


  • Central Angoniland Reserve.

Tanganyika Territory.

  • Kilimanjaro Reserve and Northern Railway Reserve, in Moshi District.
  • Mount Meru Reserve and Lake Natron Reserve, in Arusha District.
  • Selous Reserve, in Mahenge, Morogoro and Rufiji Districts.
  • Wami River Reserve, in Morogoro District.
  • Logi Plain Reserve, in Mpapwa Subdistrict.
  • Saba River Reserve, in Dodoma District.
  • Katavi Plain Reserve, in Ufipa District.
  • Mtandu River Reserve, in Kilwa District.
  • Mtetesi Reserve, in Lindi District.

Forward to