HC Deb 21 June 1927 vol 207 cc1682-3W

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies which parts of the Empire are debarred by treaty or mandate from according preference to goods from other parts of the Empire?


As far as the territories whose affairs are dealt with in the Colonial Office are concerned, the following Colonies, Protectorates, and Mandated Territories are precluded by international agreement or by mandate from according a preference to British Empire goods:

  1. (1) By the Anglo-French Convention, 1898: Nigeria and Gold Coast.
  2. (2) By the Convention of St. Germain-en-Laye, 1919, revising the General Act of Berlin, 1885, and the General Act and Declaration of Brus-sels, 1890: Kenya, Uganda, Zanzibar, Nyasaland, Tanganyika, and part of Northern Rhodesia.
  3. (3) Under Mandates: Tanganyika, British Togoland, British Cameroons, and Palestine.