HC Deb 16 June 1927 vol 207 cc1202-5W

asked the Attorney-General if he will give the names and addresses of the members of the advisory committee acting with the Lord Lieutenant of the County of London for the purpose of recommending justices of the peace for the said county; and will he state for what periods they are appointed and the date of such appointments?


The London advisory committee was appointed on the 1st January, 1924, for a term of six years, subject to a condition that approximately half the members should retire at the end of the first three years. Nineteen of the members retired on the 31st December last. Fifteen of these have been re-appointed for six years, and four new members have been appointed to the remaining vacancies.

The present members of the committee are:


Sir William Collins, K.C.V.O., D.L., J.P., 1, Albert Terrace, Regent's Park, N.W.1.

Sub-Committee and Members.

Blackheath (Blackheath Petty Sessional Division):

  • R. G. Brew, Esq., J.P., "Snaefell," 306, Brownhill Road, Catford, S.E.6.
  • Colonel H. A. H. Newington, D.S.O., J.P., 31, Shooters Hill Road, Blackheath, S.E.3.
  • Herbert Morrison, Esq., J.P., 352, Well Hall Road, Eltham, S.E.9.
  • G. F. Rowe, Esq., J.P., 5, Lyncroft Gardens, Hampstead, N.W.6.
  • Miss Mabel Crout, J.P., 3, New Road, Woolwich, S. E.18.

Newington (Newington Petty Sessional Division):

  • The Right Honourable the Lord Marshall of Chipstead, Shabden Park, Chipstead, Surrey.
  • T. G. Newland, Esq., 44, Blackfriars Road, S.E.1.
  • Frank Rider, Esq., J.P., Stanstead House, Durand Gardens, Clapham Road, S.W.9.
  • Sir Evan Spicer, J.P., D.L., "Belair," Dulwich, S.E.7.
  • R. S. Tilling, Esq., J.P., 24, Kensington Gore, S.W.7.

Wandsworth (Wandsworth Petty Sessional Division):

  • Thomas Pocock, Esquire, 27, Matthews Street, Battersea, S.W.11.

Sub-Committee and Members.

Edward Wood, Esquire, J.P., 58, Nightingale Lane, Clapham Common, S. W.12.

E. Evans, Esquire, J.P., 253, Lavender Hill, S.W.11.

Alderman A. W. Mathias, J.P., 12, Gwendolen Avenue, Putney, S.W.15.

Dame Wilton Phipps, D.B.E., J.P., 3, Culford Gardens, S.W.3.

Kensington (Kensington Petty Sessional Division):

  • Sir Francis Anderton, D.L. J.P., 9, St. James's Place, S.W.1.
  • The Right Honourable Sir W. Dickinson, K.B.E., D.L., J.P., 41, Parliament Street, S.W.1.
  • R. M. Gentry, Esquire, J.P., 20, Harbord Street, Fulham, S. W.6.
  • Dame Hudson Lyall, D.B.E., J.P., 30, Onslow Gardens, S.W.7.
  • E. L. Meinertzhagen, Esquire, J.P., 4, Cheyne Walk, Chelsea, S.W.3.

Westminster (Strand, St. James's, St. Margaret's, Hanover Square, St. Marylebone, Paddington and Hampstead Petty Sessional Divisions):

  • Sir J. H. Hunter, J.P., 12, Westbourne Crescent, W.2.
  • The Lord Jessel, 24, South Street, Park Lane, W.
  • G. A. Macmillan, Esquire, J.P., 27, Queen's Gate Gardens, S.W.7.
  • Sir Duncan Watson, J.P., 47, Holly-croft Avenue, N.W.3.
  • Mrs. Nevinson, J.P., 4, Downside Crescent., Hampstead, N.W.3.
  • Sir Robert Woolley Walden, C.B.E., D.L., J.P., Bella Vista, Upper Warlingham, Surrey.
  • Miss Gertrude Tuckwell, J.P., 13, Chester Terrace, S.W.1.

St. Pancras (St. Pancras, Holborn, Finsbury and Stoke Newington Petty Sessional Divisions):

  • J. E. Cecil Bigwood, Esquire, J.P., 11, King's Bench Walk, Temple, E. C.4.
  • Sir William Collins. K.C.V.O., D.L., J.P., 1, Albert Terrace, Regent's Park, N.W.1.
  • Alderman D. Davies, J.P., 11, Duke's Road, Tavistock Square, W.C.1.
  • A. Pugh. Esquire, J.P., 76–78, Swinton Street, W. C.1.
  • A. G. Walkden, Esquire, J.P., 25, Euston Road, N.W.1.

Sub-Committee and Members.

Tower (Tower Petty Sessional Division):

  • T. M. Denne, Esquire, J.P., 9, St. Andrews Mansions, Lower Clapton, N.E.
  • E. Friend, Esquire, J.P., 21, John Street, Bedford Row, W.C.1.
  • Miss Marion Phillips, D. Sc., J.P., 33, Eccleston Square, S.W.1.
  • Alderman W. Ray, J.P., 5, Holmbury View, Springfield, Upper Clapton, E.5.
  • Alderman Wm. Cowlishaw Johnson, J.P., L.C.C., 26, Hampstead Way, N. W.11.