HC Deb 08 May 1924 vol 173 cc645-6W
Duchess of ATHOLL

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies in what British Colonies or Dependencies the smoking of opium is permitted; and under what restrictions?


The only British Colonies, Dependencies and protected States in which the smoking of opium is permitted are Hong Kong, the Straits Settlements, the Malay States, North Borneo, Sarawak, Ceylon and Weihaiwei. In Hong Kong, the Straits Settlements, the Malay States and North Borneo Governments monopolies have been estab- lished for the manufacture and sale of prepared opium under stringent regulations, at a high price which is intended to discourage consumption. In Ceylon and Weihaiwei consumers of opium are registered. In Weihaiwei the medical officer may only issue licences to persons whose health would be injured by the deprivation of the accustomed use of opium. In Ceylon no new licences for the smoking of opium are now issued. In Sarawak the sale of opium has hitherto, subject to strict regulation by Government, been in the hands of a licensed syndicate, but this system is shortly to be replaced by a Government monopoly