HC Deb 06 May 1924 vol 173 cc263-4W

asked the Financial Secretary to the Treasury at what date the Irish Joint Exchequer Board was set up; what were the names of the members originally appointed to it; what are the names of its present members; and whether any Reports of its proceedings have been published?


The Joint Exchequer Board was set up on the 1st December, 1921, and the original members were

  • The Right Hon. Lord Colwyn, Chairman.
  • Mr. O. E. Niemeyer, C.B., appointed by the Treasury.
  • Sir R. V. N. Hopkins, K.C.B., appointed by the Treasury.
  • Mr. H. M. Pollock, appointed by the Ministry of Finance, Northern Ireland.
  • The Hon. Mr. Justice Wylie, appointed by the then Lord Lieutenant of Ireland.
Mr. Justice Wylie retired in February, 1922, and Sir Richard Hopkins in December, 1922, when the number of the Board was reduced to three by the Irish Free State (Consequential Provisions) Act, 1922. The answer to the last part of the question is in the negative.