HC Deb 10 July 1924 vol 175 cc2489-90W

asked the Minister of Agriculture the counties in England in which there are restrictions in force owing to the outbreaks of foot-and-mouth disease; the number of outbreaks still under restrictions; and whether the causes of the outbreaks have been in each case satisfactorily traced?


The following counties, or parts of counties, in England (27 in all) are still subject to restrictions owing to outbreaks of foot-and-mouth disease:

  • Berkshire.
  • Buckinghamshire.
  • Cambridgeshire.
  • Cheshire.
  • Derby.
  • Essex.
  • Hampshire.
  • Hertfordshire.
  • Huntingdonshire.
  • Isle of Ely.
  • Kent.
  • Leicestershire.
  • Lincolnshire (Holland, Lindsey and Kesteven Divisions).
  • London.
  • Middlesex.
  • Norfolk.
  • Northamptonshire.
  • Nottinghamshire.
  • Oxfordshire.
  • Soke of Peterborough.
  • Surrey.
  • Warwickshire.
  • Wiltshire.
  • Yorkshire (East Riding).

103 outbreaks are still subject to restrictions applicable to foot-and-mouth disease, infected places. Seven of these are in Scotland and two in Wales.

At the present time there are seven active centres of infection (all in England), namely:

  1. (1) Nottinghamshire Group (including Nottingham, Newark and Derby outbreaks). 24 outbreaks. Disease was found to have been in existence near Nottingham unreported for nearly two months.
  2. (2) Northants Group. Nine outbreaks. These resulted from a recurrence on premises previously infected and restocked.
  3. (3) Warwickshire ease. One outbreak; origin obscure.
  4. (4) Oxfordshire Group (including Berks and Bucks). 24 outbreaks. Origin not ascertainable.
  5. (5) Surrey Group. 12 outbreaks. Origin obscure.
  6. (6) Hertfordshire Group. Two outbreaks. No information as to origin.
  7. (7) Isle of Ely. One outbreak, near Peterborough. No information as to origin.