HC Deb 01 August 1924 vol 176 cc2415-6W

asked the President of the Board of Trade whether he can state the names of the Committee which is about to inquire into the working of the Assurance Companies Act, and when it will commence its proceedings.


The Committee to which the hon. Member refers has been constituted ass follows:

  • Mr. A. C. Clauson, C.B.E., K.C. (Chairman).
  • Mr. S. J. H. W. Allin, C.B.E.
  • Sir Gilbert Garnsey, K.B.E.
  • Mr. C. M. Knowles, LL.B.
  • 2416
  • Mr. J. C. McBride.
  • Mr. O. Morgan Owen.
  • Mr. W. P. Phelps, F.I.A.
  • Mr. G. Stuart Robertson, K.C.
  • Mr. A. L. Sturge.
  • Mr. H. M. Trouncer, F.I.A.
  • Mr. H. M. Winearls, O.B.E.

The secretary to the Committee, to whom all communications should be addressed, is Mr. W. J. Smith, Board of Trade, Great George Street, London, S.W.1. I understand that in order to give opportunity to the members of the Committee to survey the ground which will be covered by the inquiry, the first sitting of the Committee will not take place before the middle of October.

Forward to