HC Deb 15 March 1920 vol 126 cc1854-5W

asked the Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Munitions how many of the national factories established in the War are still retained by the Government; and if he will give their names and indicate which of them are to be permanently in the possession of the State?


Factories under the direction of the Ministry of Munitions—

Class A.—Factories proposed to be retained on a permanent basis:

  • Royal Arsenal, Woolwich.
  • Royal Small Arms Factory, Enfield.
  • H.M. Factory, Gretna
  • H.M. Factory, Queensferry.
  • H.M. Factory, Sutton Oak.
  • H.M. Factory, Swindon.
  • 1855
  • H.M. Factory, Antigas.
  • National Filling Factory, Banbury.
  • National Filling Factory, Hereford.
  • National Filling Factory, Perivale.
  • National Ordnance Factory, Lancaster.
  • Mechanical Transport Depot, Slough.

Factories operating as salvage depots, engaged on breaking down ammunition or product on work:

  • Richborough.
  • National Filling Factory, Georgetown.
  • National Filling Factory, More cambe.
  • National Filling Factory, Gainsborough.
  • National Filling Factory, Pembrey.
  • National Ordnance Factory, Hunslet, Leeds.
  • National Powder Factory, Hackney Marshes.
  • Memorial Plaque Factory, Acton.
  • Dewsbury Clothing Factory.
  • Small Arms Ammunition Factory, Coundon.

In addition to the above there are 68 factories which are either up for sale or in process of liquidation.