HC Deb 01 December 1920 vol 135 cc1264-5W

asked the Chief Secretary for Ireland on which lines or sections of lines in Ireland passenger or goods trains have now ceased to run; on what lines or sections of lines these services have been curtailed; and to what extent?


I have been asked to reply to this question. The position of the Irish railways in consequence of the refusal of the railwaymen to handle certain Government traffic grows increasingly acute. The list of sections of the various lines on which services have been suspended or modified is as follows:

Passenger and goods trains have ceased to run on the under-mentioned sections:

Great Southern and Western Railway.

  • Limerick to Waterford.
  • Limerick to Tralee.
  • Ballingrane Junction to Foynes.
  • Patrickswell to Charleville.
  • Killonan to Nenagh.
  • Birdhill to Killaloe.
  • Clara to Banagher.

Cork, Bandon and South Coast Railway.

  • Kinsale Junction to Kinsale.
  • Clonakilty Junction to Clonakilty.

Ballinascarthy and Timoleague Railway and Timoleague and Courtmacsherry Extension Railway.

Ballinascarthy to Courtmacsherry.

Great Northern (Ireland) Railway.

  • Dundalk to Enniskillen.
  • Inniskeen to Carrickmacross.
  • Ballybay to Cootehill.
  • Ballyhaise to Belturbet.
  • Bundoran Junction to Bundoran.

Londonderry, Lough Swilly and Letter-kenny Railway and Burton-port and Garndonagh Extensions.

  • Tooban Junction to Burtonport.
  • Buncrane to Garndonagh.

Passenger services have ceased to run on the under-mentioned systems or sections, but a goods service is maintained, in almost every case a reduction from the normal and in some cases a reduction of considerable magnitude:

Great Southern and Western Railway.

  • Roscrea to Nenagh.
  • Kildate to Kilkenny, via Carlow.
  • 1265
  • Limerick to Sligo.
  • Wallow to Tralee.

Midland Great Western Railway.

  • Athlone to Achill.
  • Manulla Junction to Killala.

Cork, Bandon and South Coast Railway.

  • Drimoleague Junction to Bantry.
  • Cork to Skibbereen.

Cork and Macroom Direct Railway.

Cork and Muskerry Light Railway and Donoughmore Extension.

Tralee and Dingle Railway.

West and South Glare Railways.

The following systems or sections have been affected, but a passenger and goods service has been maintained with varying degrees of reduction from the normal:

Great Southern and Western Railway.

  • Tralee to Valentia Harbour.
  • Roscrea to Birr.
  • Maryboro' to Waterford.
  • Sallins to Tullow.
  • Mallow to Waterford.
  • Waterford to Wexford and Rosslare
  • Harbour.
  • Wexford to Rosslare Harbour.
  • Clonmel to Thurles.
  • Kingsbridge to Cork.

Midland Great Western Railway.

  • Broadstone to Clifden.
  • Mullingar to Sligo.
  • Inny Junction to Cavan.
  • Clonsilla to Kingscourt.
  • Edenderry Branch.
  • Killeshandra Branch.
  • Athboy Branch.
  • Ballinrobe Branch.

Londonderry and Lough Swilly Railway.

Londonderry to Buncrana.

Listowel and Ballybunion Railway.

Forward to