HC Deb 30 October 1919 vol 120 cc914-5W

asked the Under-Secretary of State for Air who are the officers making inquiry into the recent losses on the Egypt route, and if evidence is being taken on oath?

Major-General SEELY

The members of the Committee of Inquiry referred to by my hon. Friend are as follows:

  • President: Air Vice-Marshal E. L. Ellington, C.B., C.M. G., C.B. E., Director-General of Supply and Research, Air Ministry.
  • Mr. G. B. Cockburn, O.B.E., Head of the Accidents Branch of the Department of the Controller-General of Civil Aviation, Air Ministry.
  • 915
  • Air Commodore H. R. M. Brooke-Popham, C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O., A.F.C., Director of Research, Ministry of Munitions.
  • Air Commodore A. R. Borton, C.M.G., D. S.O., A.F.C.
The last-named officer has had great experience of the work to be investigated by the Committee. He has flown in a Handley-Page machine over the route to India and has surveyed part of the route on to Australia. The Committee is not taking evidence on oath.