HC Deb 19 November 1919 vol 121 cc948-50W

asked the Minister of Transport whether the advisory committee on London traffic which he has appointed has recommended the appointment of three sub-committees; if he has consented to such recommendation; and will he state the number of members of each sub-committee, their names, and what their reference will be?


Yes, Sir, the Committee on London Traffic has appointed a technical Sub-committee consisting of eighteen members which will be divided in three groups for specialised inquiries. I am having a statement with the names of the Committee printed in the OFFICIAL REFORT.

The names are as follow:

1. Sub-Committee on Traffic Regulation.


  • Chairman—Lieut.-Colonel C. H. Bressey, of the Ministry of Transport.
  • Superintendent A. Bassom, Metropolitan Police.
  • Superintendent B. J. Halford, City Police.
  • Mr. A. Smith, General Secretary of the London and Provincial Union of Licensed Vehicle Works.
  • Mr. H. E. Blain, Operating Manager Underground group of companies.
  • Mr. J. K. Bruce, Traffic Manager, London County Council Trams.

2. Sub-Committee on Improvement of Street Facilities.


  • Chairman—Mr. J. S. Killick (Ministry of Transport).
  • Mr. A. L. C. Fell, General Manager London County Council Trams.
  • Sir Julian W. Orde, Motor Car Traction.
  • Mr. C. R. S. Kirkpatrick, Chief Engineer Port of London Authority.
  • Mr. G. A. Dutfield, President of London Cartage and Haulage Contractors' Association.

3. Sub-Committee on London Traffic.


  • Chairman—Sir Alexander Gibb (Ministry of Transport).
  • Colonel C. Pinkham, M.P., Middlesex County Council.
  • Mr. F. Pick (Mr. Barber temporarily), Commercial Manager, Underground group of companies.
  • Mr. Rees Jeffreys, late Secretary Road Board and Deputy-Chairman of the Motor Legislation Committee.
  • Mr. S. A. Parnwell, Assistant General Manager Great Eastern Railway.
  • Mr. H. H. Gordon, London County Council.


asked the Minister of Transport whether, in connection with the setting up of the Advisory Council of Transport in the Metropolitan area, he will consider the advisability of adding two members on the nomination of the Metropolitan Boroughs Standing Joint Committee, one to represent the boroughs on the North of the Thames and the other to represent those on the South?


It has been decided to add one representative of the Metropolitan City and Borough Councils to the Advisory Committee on London Traffic.