HC Deb 23 July 1918 vol 108 cc1663-4W

asked the Minister of Labour if he will state the terms of reference to the Officers' University and Technical Training Committee appointed by the Presidents of the Boards of Agriculture and Education and the Ministers of Labour and Pensions; and what are the names of the members of the Committee?


We, the President of the Board of Agriculture, the President of the Board of Education, the Minister of Labour and the Minister of Pensions, hereby appoint the persons named here-under to be a Committee, entitled the "Officers' University and Technical Training Committee," with the following terms of referenceTo advise the Board of Agriculture, the Board of Education, the Ministry of Labour, and the Ministry of Pensions upon such courses of education and training as it may be desirable to arrange for the benefit of officers and ex-officers of His Majesty's Forces and men of like standing, particularly with a view to fitting them for suitable employment after the War, to consider any general questions arising in connection with such education and training, and, when necessary, to advise individual officers as to suitable courses of training.

Captain T. P. H. Beamish, C.B., R.N., Admiralty.

H. B. Butler, Esq., Ministry of Labour.

H. E. Dale, Esq., Board of Agriculture and Fisheries.

W. R. Davies, Esq., C.B., Board of Education.

Lieut.-Col. M. Earle, D.S.O., War Office.

W. B. Bards, Esq., Board of Education.

C. Home McCall, Esq., C.B.E., Appointments Department, Ministry of Labour.

Major R. Mitchell, C.B.E., Ministry of Pensions.

Col. R. H. More, C.M.G., Air Ministry.

C. M. Wynne, Esq., Ministry of Pensions.

Captain W. D. Ross, M.A., representing the University of Oxford.

H. A. Roberts, Esq., M.A., representing the University of Cambridge.

Sir William J. Collins, M.P., representing the University of London.

Professor Sir William Ashley, M.Com., M.A., Professor W. Ripper, D.Eng., D.Sc., representing the University of Birmingham, Durham, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester and Sheffield.

Principal E. D. Griffiths, Sc.D., F.R.S., representing the University of Wales and the University of Bristol.

F. Wilkinson, Esq., F.C.S., Association of Technical Institutions.

W. A. Nicholls, Esq., Workers' Educational Association.

C. B. L. Tennyson, Esq., C.M.G., Federation of British Industries.

Howard Martin, Esq., Surveyors' Institution.

Sir Charles Bathurst, M.P., Central Chamber of Agriculture.

A. M. Samuel, Esq., Association of Chambers of Commerce.

And we further appoint Lieut.-General Sir Alfred Keogh, G.C.B., to be Chairman and G. H. V. Sutherland, Esq., of the Board of Education, and F. J. Bullen, Esq., of the Appointments Department, Ministry of Labour, to be Secretaries of the Committee.

(Signed) R. E. PROTHERO.




10th July, 1918.