HC Deb 03 July 1918 vol 107 c1741W

asked the President of the Board of Education if he can state the local education authorities which are not providing medical treatment for school children?


The following is a list of the thirty-nine local education authorities in England and Wales who, in 1917, did not submit schemes for sanction by the Board of Education under Section 12 (1) (b) of the Education (Administrative Provisions) Act, 1907, for medical treatment of school children:

Isle of Ely Kingston-on-Thames
Herefordshire Morecambe
Hertfordshire Mossley
Middlesex Ossett
Soke of Peterborough Penzance
Staffordshire Pontefract
Suffolk, East Pudsey
Sussex, East Royal Leamington
York (North Riding) Spa
Carmarthenshire Stalybridge
Canterbury Sutton Coldfield
Dudley Carmarthen
Gateshead Llanelly
Great Yarmouth Coseley
Rotherham Edmonton
Barnstaple Farnworth
Berwick-on-Tweed Felling
Congleton Ince-in-Makerfield
Glossop Oldbury
Hornsey Spenborough

In 1916 the number of such authorities was forty-three. It must not be assumed that all these authorities, while themselves incurring no expenditure on treatment, make no arrangements which secure or aim at securing the treatment of defects by private practitioners or voluntary organisations.