HC Deb 08 July 1915 vol 73 cc539-40W

asked the Under-Secretary of State for War if he will say who are the members composing the Board of Control of Canteens for the Army; whether they receive any and, if so, what salary; whether he is aware that the Board is deducting 5 per cent, per month from the takings of the regimental institutes; and whether, in view of the fact that this impost will cripple the institutes and make it impossible for them to continue the benefits hitherto accruing to the men, he will take steps to protect the regimental institutes by requiring the Board of Control to desist from making a deduction from their takings?


The composition of the Board of Control of Garrison and Regimental Institutes is as follows:—


Sir C. Nicholson, Bart, M.P.


  • Mr R. Burbidge.
  • Mr. A. Hinton.
  • Mr. W. E. Home, M.P.
  • Sir W. H. Lever, Bart.
  • Brigadier-General S. S. Long, C.B.
  • Lieutenant-Colonel G. A. Malcolm.
  • Mr. L. D. Nicholson.
  • Mr. W. P. Perry, C.B.
  • Colonel E. St. G. Pratt, D.S.O.
  • Lieutenant-Colonel J. W. G. Roy.
  • Mr. G. E. Sendell.
  • Lieutenant-Colonel J. Stollery, V.D.
  • Mr. A. Whitehead.
  • The Right Hon. J. W. Wilson, M.P.

Representatives of the following Commands:

Aldershot, Eastern, Irish, Northern, Scottish, Southern, Western and London District.


Mr. E. H. Cherry.