HC Deb 05 August 1914 vol 65 cc1967-8W

asked the Secretary for Foreign Affairs whether the Treaty of 1839, which deals with the neutrality of Belgium, has been presented to Parliament, and if so, when?


The Treaty and the Annex thereto were laid before Parliament on the 4th August, 1870, paper number, 278. The following is a translation of the Articles which deal with the neutrality of Belgium:—

Translation of extracts from a Treaty relative to the Netherlands and Belgium, signed at London on 19th April, 1839: Treaty between Great Britain, Austria, France, Prussia, and Russia, on the one part, and Belgium on the other: Article I. Her Majesty the Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, His Majesty the Emperor of Austria, King of Hungary and Bohemia, His Majesty the King of the French, His Majesty the King of Prussia, and His Majesty the Emperor of all the Russians, declare, that the Articles hereunto annexed, and forming the tenour of the Treaty concluded this day between His Majesty the King of the Belgians and His Majesty the King of the Netherlands, Grand Duke of Luxembourg, are considered as having the same force and validity as if they were textually inserted in the present Act, and that they are thus placed under the guarantee of their said Majesties. Extract from Annex: Article VII. Belgium, within the limits specified in Articles I., II., and IV. shall form an independent and perpetually neutral State. It shall be bound to observe such neutrality towards all other States. (Note: Articles I. II., and IV. which are referred to in Article VII. define the provinces and territorial limits of Belgium.)