HC Deb 29 May 1911 vol 26 cc868-9W

asked the President of the Local Government Board if he will state what rural district councils have applied for loans for cottage buildings since 1st January, 1910, under the Housing Acts; and what have been the results of their applications?


Since 1st January, 1910, the Rural District Councils of Bedford, Billericay, Chipping Campden, Henstead, Hitchin, Linton, Mailing, Smallburgh, and Spalding have applied for sanction to loans for the erection of houses for the working classes under the Housing Acts. Loans have been sanctioned in the cases of Hitchin, Linton, and Smallburgh, and the other cases are under consideration. The Board have also given consent to the sale of Consols held on behalf of a parish in the rural district of Maldon and the appropriation of the proceeds in the erection of houses by the rural district council. I may add that between the passing of the Housing of the Working Classes Act, 1890, and the Act of 1909, loans for the erection of houses under the former Act had been sanctioned in respect of only eight rural districts, including Linton and Maldon.