HC Deb 06 July 1911 vol 27 cc1475-6W

asked the Prime Minister whether, in 1906, he appointed a permanent Committee to advise the Treasury in regard to grants to university colleges; who were the members of that Committee; whether the administration of the grants to university colleges has been transferred from the Treasury to the Board of Education; whether a committee has been appointed to advise the Board; whether the members of the; permanent Committee of the Treasury have been invited to serve on the Board of Education Committee; and, if not, will he say why this has not been done?


The answers to the first, third, and fourth paragraphs of the question are in the affirmative, and to the fifth in the negative. The members of the last Treasury Committee were Dr. Woods (chairman), Sir Francis Mowatt, Sir William Collins, Professor Henry Jackson, Dr. McCormick, with Mr. Ogilvie and Dr. Heath of the Board of Education. The members of the new committee, appointed by the President of the Board of Education, will be announced by him in a few days. It is considered desirable that no member of the Committee should be closely associated with any of the institutions participating in the Grant.

Forward to