HC Deb 28 February 1910 vol 14 cc714-5W

asked the President of the Local Government Board how many local authorities have adopted the Notification of Births Act, the names of such local authorities, and what diminution in the infant death rate under one year has taken place?


The Act is now in force in 195 areas of local government, namely:—(1) The whole of the Administrative County of London, comprising the City of London and the 28 metropolitan boroughs; (2) 46 county boroughs; (3) 46 non-county boroughs; (4) 57 urban districts; (5) 17 rural districts. (In the case of four non-county boroughs, seven urban districts, and 16 rural districts, the Act is in force by virtue of its adoption by the Worcestershire County Council.)

The names of the areas are as follows:—

  1. (1) London.
  2. (2) County Boroughs—Bath, Birmingham, Blackburn, Blackpool, Bolton, Bootle, Bradford, Brighton, Burnley, Bury, Cardiff, Croydon, Derby, Dudley, Exeter, Grimsby, Halifax, Ipswich, Kings-ton-on-Hull, Lincoln, Liverpool, Middlesbrough, Merthyr Tydvil, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Newport (Mon.), Northampton, Norwich, Nottingham, Oldham, Preston, Reading, Rochdale, Rotherham, St. Helens, Sheffield, Smethwick, Southampton, Southport, Stockport, Swansea, Walsall, West Bromwich, West Ham, Wolverhampton, Worcester, York.
  3. (3) Non-County Boroughs—Ashton-under-Lyne, Aston Manor, Batley, *Bewdley, 715 Burslem, Cambridge, Chipping Wycombe, Chesterfield, Clitheroe, Colne, Darwen, Dewsbury, *Droitwich, Eastbourne, East Retford, Eccles, *Evesham, Folkestone, Hove, Ilkeston, Keighley, Kendal, *Kidderminster, Kingston-upon-Thames, Lancaster, Leamington, Longton, Luton, Macclesfield, Mansfield, Margate, Middleton, Rochester, Shrewsbury, Stalybridge, Stockton, Taunton, Thornaby-on-Tees, Wakefield, Wallsend, Weymouth, Winchester, Wimbledon, Workington, Worthing, Wrexham.
  4. (4) Urban Districts—Acton, Ashton-in-Makerfield, Atherton, Barking Town, Barry, Beckenham, Biddulph, Bilston, Brierfield, *Bromsgrove, Brandon and Byshottles, Brumby and Frodingham, Carshalton, Chiswick, Crompton, Edmonton, Failsworth, Farnworth, Finchley, Friern Barnet, Grays Thurrock, Handsworth (Staffs.), Horsforth, Hucknall Torkard, Ilford, Kettering, King's Norton and Northfield, Knutsfod, Leek, *Lye and Wollescote, Long Eaton, *Malvern, Middlewich, Nantwich, *North Bromsgrove, *Oldbury, Penge, Penrith, *Redditch, Rhondda, Shildon and East Thickley, Shipley, Southwick-on-Wear, Stanley (Durham), Stone, Stourbridge, *Stour-port, Stretford, Swinton and Pendlebury, Teignmouth, Tottenham, Tyldesley-with-Shakerley, Wellingborough, Willesden, Whickham, Woodford, Wood Green.
  5. (5). Rural Districts*Bromsgrove, *Droitwich, *Evesham, *Feckenham, *Halesowen, *Kidderminster, *Martley, *Per-shore, *Rock, *Shipston-on-Stour, *Stow-on-the-Wold, *Tenbury, *Tewkesbury, *Upton-upon-Severn, *Winchcomb, Winchester, *Yardley.

* By virtue of the adoption of the Act by the Worcestershire County Council.

The death rates of infants during the first year of life published by the Registrar-General for England and Wales show that the figures for the years 1907, 1908, and 1909 were lower than in any previous year recorded, being 118, 120, and 109 respectively per 1,000 births. The lowest corresponding figures in any previous year was 128 in 1905.