HL Deb 13 February 1996 vol 569 cc511-4

3 45 p.m.

Lord Richard rose to move to resolve, That this House calls on Her Majesty's Government to allow reasonable time and facilities to Opposition spokesmen prior to the Statement in Parliament on the Scott Report.

The noble Lord said: My Lords, I do not propose to weary the House with a second speech. I was a little surprised at the procedural petulance of the noble Viscount the Leader of the House. Surely he would have realized—

Noble Lords


Noble Lords

Hear, hear!

Lord Richard

My Lords, surely the noble Viscount the Leader of the House would have realised, and indeed should have realised, that the usual channels have not been clogged for the past 24 hours. If there had been any suggestion that he would have accepted this Motion, naturally we would have considered it; but none came.

I want to make just two points, and then I shall leave it. The issue now before the House is not the merits of the report; it is the facilities being offered to Opposition parties before the Statement is made on Thursday. I do not propose to repeat what I said before. What is on offer is basically unreasonable. I beg to move.

Moved, That this House calls on Her Majesty's Government to allow reasonable time and facilities to Opposition spokesmen prior to the Statement in Parliament on the Scott Report.—(Lord Richard.)

On Question, Whether the said Motion shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 133; Not-Contents, 152.

Division No. 1
Ackner, L. Ezra, L.
Acton, L. Falkland, V.
Addington, L. Farrington of Ribbleton, B.
Alport, L. Fisher of Rednal, B.
Archer of Sandwell, L. Flowers, L.
Ashley of Stoke, L. Gallacher, L.
Attlee, E. Geraint, L.
Bancroft, L. Gladwin of Clee, L.
Barnett, L. Glenamara, L.
Beaumont of Whitley, L. Gould of Potternewton, B.
Birk, B. Graham of Edmonton, L. [Teller.]
Birkett, L. Gregson, L.
Blackstone, B. Grey, E.
Blease, L. Hamwee, B.
Borrie, L. Hams of Greenwich, L. [Teller.]
Brooks of Tremorfa, L. Haskel, L.
Bruce of Donington, L. Hayman, B.
Callaghan of Cardiff, L. Hayter, L.
Carmichael of Kelvingrove, L. Healey, L.
Chandos, V. Hertford, M.
Charteris of Amisfield, L. Hilton of Eggardon, B.
Chichester, Bp. Hollick, L.
Cledwyn of Penrhos, L. Hollis of Heigham, B.
Clinton-Davis, L. Holme of Cheltenham, L.
Croham, L. Hooson, L.
Dacre of Glanton, L. Howie of Troon, L.
Dahrendorf, L. Hughes, L.
David, B. Hutchinson of Lullington, L.
Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde, B. Jay of Paddington, B.
Desai, L. Jeger, B.
Donaldson of Kingsbridge, L. Jenkins of Hillhead, L.
Donoughue, L. Jenkins of Putney. L.
Dormand of Easington, L. Judd, L.
Dubs, L. Kennet, L.
Elis-Thomas, L. Kilbracken, L.
Kirkhill, L. Rea, L.
Kirkwood, L. Redesdale, L.
Lester of Herne Hill, L. Richard, L.
Lockwood, B. Ritchie of Dundee, L.
Longford, E. Robson of Kiddington, B.
Lovell-Davis, L. Rodgers of Quarry Bank, L.
McConnell, L. Roskill, L.
McIntosh of Haringey, L. Russell, E.
Mackie of Benshie, L. Sainsbury, L.
McNally, L. Sandwich, E.
Mallalieu, B. Sefton of Garston, L.
Mar and Kellie, E. Serota, B.
Marsh, L. Shaughnessy, L.
Mason of Barnsley, L. Shepherd, L.
Merlyn-Rees, L. Simon, V.
Milner of Leeds, L. Smith of Gilmorehill, B.
Mishcon, L. Spens, L.
Monkswell, L. Stallard, L.
Moran, L. Stedman, B.
Morris of Castle Morris, L. Stoddart of Swindon, L.
Strabolgi, L.
Murray of Epping Forest, L. Taylor of Blackburn, L.
Nathan, L. Thomson of Monifieth, L.
Nelson, E. Tope, L.
Nicol, B. Tordoff, L.
Ogmore, L. Turner of Camden, B.
Oliver of Aylmerton, L. Wedderbum of Charlton, L.
Oxford, Bp. White, B.
Palmer, L. Wigoder, L.
Perry of Walton, L. Williams of Crosby, B.
Peston, L. Williams of Elvel, L.
Phillips of Ellesmere, L. Williams of Mostyn, L.
Aberdare, L. Coleraine, L.
Addison, V. Colwyn, L.
Ailsa, M. Constantine of Stanmore, L.
Aldington, L. Cooke of Islandreagh, L.
Alexander of Tunis, E. Courtown, E.
Allenby of Megiddo, V. Craig of Radley, L.
Archer of Weston-Super-Mare, L. Cranborne, V. [Lord Privy Seal.]
Arran, E. Crathorne, L.
Astor, V. Crickhowell, L.
Astor of Hever, L. Cuckney, L.
Belhaven and Stenton, L. Cullen of Ashbourne, L.
Beloff, L. Cumberlege, B.
Blake, L. Dean of Harptree, L
Blaker, L. Denham, L.
Blatch, B. Denton of Wakefield, B.
Blyth, L. Downshire, M.
Boardman, L. Ellenborough, L.
Boyd-Carpenter, L. Elles, B.
Brabazon of Tara, L. Elliott of Morpeth, L.
Braine of Wheatley, L. Elton, L.
Brentford, V. Erroll of Hale, L.
Brigstocke, B. Faithfull, B.
Brougham and Vaux, L. Flather, B.
Bruntisfield, L. Forbes, L.
Buchan, E. Fraser of Carmyllie, L.
Buckinghamshire, E. Fraser of Kilmorack, L.
Burnham, L. Gainford, L.
Cadman, L. Gardner of Parkes, B.
Caldecote, V. Geddes, L.
Campbell of Alloway, L. Gisborough, L.
Campbell of Croy, L. Goold, L.
Carnarvon, E. Goschen, V.
Carnegy of Lour, B. Gray of Contin, L.
Carnock, L. Greenhill of Harrow, L.
Cayzer, L. Griffiths of Fforestfach, L.
Chalfont, L. Grimston of Westbury, L.
Chelmsford, V. Hacking, L.
Chesham, L. [Teller.] Hailsham of Saint Marylebone, L.
Clanwilliam, E. Halsbury, E.
Clark of Kempston. L. Harding of Petherton, L.
Cockfield, L. Hayhoe. L.
Hemphill, L. Mowbray and Stourton, L.
Henley, L. Munster, E.
Holderness, L. Northesk, E.
HolmPatrick, L. O'Cathain, B.
Howe, E. Onslow, E.
Ilchester, E. Park of Monmouth, B.
Inglewood, L. Pender, L.
Jellicoe, E. Peyton of Yeovil, L.
Johnston of Rockport, L. Pilkington of Oxenford, L.
Killearn, L. Reay, L.
Kimball, L. Renton, L.
Kinnoull, E. St. Davids, V.
Laing of Dunphail, L. Saltoun of Abernethy. Ly.
Lane of Horsell, L. Sandford, L.
Lauderdale, E. Seccombe, B.
Lawson of Blaby, L. Shannon, E.
Leigh, L. Shaw of Northstead, L.
Liverpool, E. Skelmersdale, L.
Long, V. Soulsby of Swaffham Prior, L.
Lucas, L. Stevens of Ludgate, L.
Lucas of Chilworth, L. Stockton, E.
Lyell, L. Stodart of Leaston, L.
McColl of Dulwich, L. Strange, B.
Mackay of Ardbrecknish, L. Strathcarron, L.
Strathclyde, L. [Teller.]
Mackay of Clashfern, L [Lord Chancellor.] Terrington, L.
Teviot, L.
Mackay of Drumadoon, L. Thomas of Gwydir, L.
Macleod of Borve, B. Trefgarne, L.
Manchester, D. Trumpington, B.
Merrivale, L. Tugendhat, L.
Mersey, V. Ullswater, V.
Middleton, L. Wade of Charlton, L.
Miller of Hendon, B. Whitelaw, V.
Milverton, L. Wolfson, L.
Mountevans, L. Young, B.

Resolved in the negative, and Motion disagreed to accordingly.