HL Deb 03 July 1991 vol 530 cc1041-3

2AG Line 43, leave out subsection (7).

Lord Nathan

My Lords, I beg to move Amendment No. 2AG.

Moved, That Amendment No. 2AG, as an amendment to Commons Amendment No. 2A, be agreed to.—(Lord Nathan.)

Lord Monson

My Lords, on this amendment I have a certain sympathy with the Government's position as set out by the Leader of the House earlier this afternoon, but I ask him to explain why the period needs to be as long as six months. Surely six weeks would be more than adequate.

Lord Waddington

My Lords—

Lord Tordoff

My Lords, perhaps I may dare to intervene at this stage. There has been considerable debate on this subject and we are now at a stage at which we should put the matter to the vote rather than reopen the debate.

Lord Waddington

My Lords, I was about to say the same thing. Although I would like to say something, we debated the matter earlier and therefore it would not be right to reply.

6.56 p.m.

On Question, Whether Amendment No. 2AG, as an amendment to Amendment No. 2A, shall be agreed to

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 91; Not-Contents, 74.

Division No. 4
Ackner, L. Brain, L.
Addington, L. Brightman, L.
Airedale, L. Campbell of Alloway, L.
Banks, L. Carmichael of Kelvingrove, L.
Birk, B. Carnock, L.
Blease, L. Carter, L.
Bonham-Carter, L. Cledwyn of Penrhos, L.
Boston of Faversham, L. Cocks of Hartcliffe, L.
Bottomley, L. Craigmyle, L.
Darcy (de Knayth), B. Morris, L.
Dean of Beswick, L. Morris of Castle Morris, L.
Desai, L. Morton of Shuna, L.
Dormand of Easington, L. Munster, E.
Ennals, L. Murray of Epping Forest, L.
Ewart-Biggs, B. Nathan, L.
Fisher of Rednal, B. Newall, L.
Gainsborough, E. Nicol, B.
Gallacher, L. Pender, L.
Galpern, L. Pitt of Hampstead, L.
Graham of Edmonton, L. [Teller.] Rea, L.
Redesdale, L.
Greenway, L. Richard, L.
Hailsham of Saint Marylebone, L. Robson of Kiddington, B.
Rochester, L.
Halsbury, E. Russell, E.
Hampton, L. Seear, B.
Hamwee, B. Sefton of Garston, L.
Hanworth, V. Serota, B.
Harris of Greenwich, L. Shannon, E.
Hilton, B. Sharples, B.
Hollis of Heigham, B. Stedman, B.
Holme of Cheltenham, L. Stockton, E.
Houghton of Sowerby, L. Stoddart of Swindon, L.
Howie of Troon, L. Taylor of Blackburn, L.
Hylton, L. Taylor of Gryfe, L.
Hylton-Foster, B. Templeman, L.
Jenkins of Hillhead, L. Tordoff, L. [Teller.]
John-Mackie, L. Turner of Camden, B.
Judd, L. Underhill, L.
Kirkhill, L. Varley, L.
Lawrence, L. Wharton, B.
Listowel, E. White, B.
Lockwood, B. Wilberforce, L.
Longford, E. Williams of Elvel, L.
McNair, L. Winstanley, L.
Mallalieu, B. Wyatt of Weeford, L.
Monkswell, L.
Alexander of Tunis, E. Kenilworth, L.
Arran, E. Kimball, L.
Astor, V. Lane of Horsell, L.
Belstead, L. Long, V.
Bessborough, E. Mackay of Ardbrecknish, L.
Blake, L. Mackay of Clashfern, L.
Blatch, B. Macleod of Borve, B.
Boardman, L. Mancroft, L.
Boyd-Carpenter, L. Marlesford, L.
Brabazon of Tara, L. Merrivale, L.
Caithness, E. Mottistone, L.
Cavendish of Furness, L. Mountevans, L.
Clanwilliam, E. Mountgarret, V.
Cockfield, L. Nelson, E.
Colnbrook, L. Norrie, L.
Colwyn, L. Oxfuird, V.
Constantine of Stanmore, L. Pearson of Rannoch, L.
Davidson, V. [Teller.] Platt of Writtle, B.
Denton of Wakefield, B. Plummer of St. Marylebone, L.
Dudley, E. Reay, L.
Elliott of Morpeth, L. Renton, L.
Erroll, E. Romney, E.
Faithfull, B. Sanderson of Bowden, L.
Ferrers, E. Savile, L.
Flather, B. Selborne, E.
Fraser of Carmyllie, L. Shrewsbury, E.
Gainford, L. Skelmersdale, L.
Gisborough, L. Stevens of Ludgate, L.
Glenarthur, L. Strathclyde, L.
Harmar-Nicholls, L. Strathmore and Kinghorne, E.
Harvington, L. Sudeley, L.
Henley, L. Trefgarne, L.
Hesketh, L. [Teller.] Ullswater, V.
Hives, L. Vaux of Harrowden, L.
Hooper, B. Waddington, L.
Howe, E. Wade of Chorlton, L.
Joseph, L. Wedgwood, L.

Resolved in the affirmative, and Amendment No.2AG agreed to accordingly.

7.3 p.m.