HL Deb 22 June 1955 vol 193 cc282-3

4.34 p.m.


My Lords, before the noble Lord, Lord Quibell, rises to speak, I hope that the House will forgive me if I interrupt the business to make a statement which is being made in another place by my right honourable friend the Prime Minister. It relates to the Council of Europe. It 1s as follows:

"The Consultative Assembly will meet at Strasbourg on the 5th of July and I have appointed"—

I am reading the words of the Prime Minister—

"eighteen delegates from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. The distribution of the appointments between the Parties is the same as in the previous delegation: that is, nine Members of the Conservative Party, eight Members of the Labour Party, and a representative of the Liberal Party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.

"The appointments of the Labour and Liberal representatives and substitutes have of course been made on the basis of nominations by the Leaders of those Parties. It would perhaps be more convenient if the names were circulated in the OFFICIAL REPORT.

"The same delegation will represent the United Kingdom Parliament at the new Western European Union Assembly which is also expected to meet at Strasbourg on July the 5th. In the course of its meeting, this Assembly will, no doubt, adopt its own rules as regards substitutes. It seems probable, however, that the substitute delegates for the Council of Europe will also serve as substitutes for the Western European Union Assembly."

I shall see that the names are circulated in due course.

Following are the names referred to:

United Kingdom Delegation to the Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe

Representatives from the Government Benches: The right honourable Member for Renfrew, West (Mr. J. S. Maclay); The honourable Members for Aberdeenshire, East (Sir Robert Boothby); Belfast, South (Sir David Campbell); Darwen (Mr. C. Fletcher-Cooke); Glasgow, Scotstoun (Mr. J. R. H. Hutchison); Bebington (Mr. H. D. Oakshott); Birmingham, Edgbaston (Miss Edith Pitt); Winchester (Mr. Peter Smithers), and the noble Lord, Lord Chesham.

From the Labour Party: The right honourable Members for Lewisham, South (Mr. Herbert Morrison); Brighouse and Spenborough (Mr. John Edwards); Derby, South (Mr. Philip Noel-Baker); The honourable Members for Coventry, South (Miss Elaine Burton); Bermondsey (Mr. R. J. Mellish); Dundee, East (Mr. G. M. Thomson); The honourable and learned Member for Northampton (Mr. R. T. Paget), and the noble Lord, Lord Henderson.

From the Liberal Party: The noble Lord, Lord Layton.

The following substitutes have been appointed to act for the delegates when they are absent from Strasbourg:—

From the Government Benches: The honourable Members for Wells (Lieutenant Commander S. L. C. Maydon); Bournemouth East and Christchurch (Mr. Nigel Nicolson); Harrogate (Mr. J. E. Ramsden); Sutton and Cheam (Major Richard Sharples); and the noble Lord, the Viscount Stonehaven.

From the Labour Party: The honourable Members for Goole (Mr. George Jeger); Stechford (Mr. R. H. Jenkins); The Hartle-pools (Mr. David T. Jones); Newcastle-upon-Tyne, West (Mr. E. Popplewell).

From the Liberal Party: The honourable and learned Member for Cardigan (Mr. Roderic Bowen).