HL Deb 02 November 1948 vol 159 c186

The LORD CHANCELLOR acquainted the House that His Majesty had (by Commission) revoked certain Letters Patent and had appointed the Chairman of Committees for the time being, the Lord Stanmore, the Earl of Drogheda, any person who shall have been Chairman of Committees, the Lord Denman, the Earl of Clarendon, the Viscount Hailsham, the Earl of Lucan, the Viscount Mersey, the Viscount Maugham, the Lord Temple-more, the Viscount Simon, the Viscount Addison, the Lord Hare (E. Listowel), the Viscount Jowitt, the Earl Fortescue, the Lord Ammnon, the Viscount Wimborne, the Lord Teynham, the Lord Holden, the Lord Merthyr, the Lord Blackford and the Lord Kershaw to be Speaker of the House in the absence of the Lord Chancellor: The said Commission was read.

House adjourned at twenty-five minutes before five o'clock.