HL Deb 13 May 1940 vol 116 c370

The LORD CHANCELLOR acquainted the House that His Majesty had (by Commission) revoked certain Letters Patent and had appointed the Chairman of Committees for the time being, the Earl of Donoughmore (formerly Chairman of Committees), the Earl of Onslow (now Chairman of Committees), any person who shall have been Chairman of Committees (such person taking precedence by reference to the date of his appointment to that office), the Lord Denman, the Earl of Granard, the Lord Stanmore, the Earl of Clarendon, the Earl of Plymouth, the Viscount Hailsham, the Earl of Lucan, the Viscount Mersey, the Viscount Sankey, the Viscount Maugham, the Viscount Caldecote, the Lord Strabolgi, the Lord Templemore, and the Lord Atkin, Speakers of the House in the absence of the Lord Chancellor.